Keeping your visit to the Best For You website private
Jump to content on:
You do not have to be ashamed if you are struggling with your mental health. Getting information from a trustworthy website like Best For You is a sensible thing to do – and for a lot of people, it’s not something they need to keep secret or private.
But we know that sometimes young people might not want their friends or siblings to know they’re struggling if they’re browsing at school or on a shared device.
And in some situations, it might not be helpful or safe for the people a young person lives with to know that they’ve been looking at wellbeing information online.
The leave site button
The Best For You website has a ‘Leave site’ button so that you can always quickly get the site off your screen – for example, if you’re looking at it somewhere public like a library and you don’t want your friends to see what you’re reading.
Using the ‘leave site’ button does not delete the information your phone, tablet, or computer holds about the websites you’ve visited. Other people might be able to look at this (or use the back button on your browser) to see which sites you’ve been visiting.
Deleting your internet history and keeping your visit private
The exact steps to clear your internet history will depend on the browser you’re using (for example, Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, or Safari).
The Childline website has instructions for deleting your browser history and cookies, as well as information about using private browsing.
Childline – Cover your tracks
Text NATTER for help
Anyone can text ‘NATTER’ to 85258 to seek
help, wherever they are in the UK. It’s a free, anonymous service and available 24/7.
More about NATTER
